jump to navigation

Maths and politics of New Districts in Telangana జూలై 8, 2016

Posted by M Bharath Bhushan in 29th State, Adilabad, Economy, Hyderabad, Identity, Karimnagar, KCR, Khammam, Mahabubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, politics, Rangareddy, regionalism, Telangana, Warangal.
Tags: ,

Telangana: In new math, adding more districts will divide politics
Kamalapathi Rao H, Deccan Chronicle, July 8, 2016

Reorganisation of districts will strengthen K. Chandrasekhar Rao and his party TRS in south, east.

Hyderabad: The reorganisation of districts in Telangana state could lead to exclusive zones for the TRS, while edging out the Opposition in some of the proposed districts in the southern and eastern parts of the state.

The TRS has been traditionally strong in the northern districts and Warangal, while it is considerably weak in Ranga Reddy, Mahbubnagar, Nalgonda and Khammam.

Mahbubnagar district will be split into three parts — Mahbubnagar, Wanaparthy and Nagar Kurnool. As per proposals, Wanaparthy district would have Alampur, Gadwal and Wanaparthy from where the TRS has no MLA. The district will become a stronghold of the Congress.

The residual Mahbubnagar district will have Maktal, Narayanpet, De-varakadra, Jadcherla, Shadnagar, Mahbubna-gar and Kodangal. Of these, only Kodangal has a representative from the Telugu Desam. With this, the residual Mahbubnagar district would become a stronghold of the ruling party.

If Kodangal is merged into its neighbouring Ranga Reddy West (Vikarabad) district, the TD would not have any representation from Mahbubnagar district and the TRS will have no opposition.

Among other Assembly constituencies in the residual district, minister C. Laxma Reddy represents Jadcherla, while Congress MLA from Maktal Chittem Rammo-han Reddy and TD MLA from Narayanpet S. Rajender Reddy are supporting the ruling party.

In the proposed Nagar Kurnool district, both the Congress and the TRS are well-placed. At present, the Congress represents Kalwakurthy and the ruling party has three — Nagar Kurnool, Acchampet and Kolhapur. The proposed Yadadri district, which will be created after splitting Nalgonda district, would also become a TRS stronghold.

Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, who has big plans for the historic Yadadri shrine, is planning to make it his home district by transferring Jagadevpur mandal, where his farm house at Yerravalli village is located, from Medak district.

The development of the Yadadri region as a pilgrimage destination is the Chief Minister’s pet project, which includes development of shrines such as Yadadri, Matsya Narsimha Kshetram, Palakurthy among other temples.

The formation of a new Suryapet district carved out of the current Nalgonda district will give scope to the ruling party to grab the strongholds of Left and the Congress. In Ranga Reddy district, all the key leaders from the TRS and their rivals will come under the Vikarabad district.

Former home minister P. Sabita Reddy and her family would face some difficulty as the Chevella LS constituency would be split between two districts. The TRS may face group politics in the proposed Bhadradri district. At present, there are three groups in the ruling party and all the leaders are aspiring to be in the state Cabinet.

source: http://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/current-affairs/080716/telangana-in-new-math-adding-more-districts-will-divide-politics.html


No comments yet — be the first.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

గూగుల్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: