jump to navigation

Telangana student leaders to contest 2014 Assembly polls from any party మే 31, 2013

Posted by M Bharath Bhushan in elections, Osmania, Telangana, universities.

Telangana student leaders to jump into poll fray
Nikhila Henry, TNN, May 29, 2013

Hyderabad: The Telangana movement is all set to get a shot in the arm with scores of student leaders planning to step up their struggle after being promised tickets to contest the 2014 Assembly polls by various parties including the TRS, TDP and the BJP.

The student leaders, who had been criticising political parties for taking them for a ride by promising them their due, seem to have buried the hatchet and are eager to take their struggle for statehood outside the university spheres. They came out in open support of their leaders, saying the move was the logical next step and are now setting up offices and rooting to reach out to their voters in the 10 Telangana districts.

“We have been boosting the protests from within the four walls of the university, but it’s time to take up a bigger political struggle,” said Pidamarthi Ravi, a prominent pro-Telangana student leader from Osmania University, which has traditionally been a hotbed for the statehood movement. Ravi is expected to contest on a TRS ticket from Madira in Khammam.

Experts and analysts said the decision to give tickets to students would give a boost to the flagging Telangana movement and raise the political temperature ahead of the polls both within the campuses and outside. “Students were miffed with the fact that they were getting sidelined for a long time in the Telangana struggle. With political parties supporting them and finally giving them due credit, the student participation in the movement could improve,” said an OU faculty member who has been an active observer of the protests.

Most student leaders who are expected to contest the 2014 elections are research scholars. Matters seem to be making major headway as in some cases, even their constituencies have been fixed. For instance Raja Ram Yadav, a PhD candidate from social sciences, will contest from Balkonda constituency in Nizamabad district on a TDP ticket.

Similarly, B Suman, the state president of Telangana Rashtra Samithi Vidyarthi Vibhag (TRSVV) and a research scholar at the English department will contest on a TRS ticket from Choopadandi, Karimnagar district. E Srinivas, also a research scholar, is expected to contest from Andol, Medak district.

The BJP also has promised to back some candidates from their student wing, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), including K Raju, Veera Babu and M Kalyan.

Like in any political game, some student leaders have not yet pledged allegiance to any party and are waiting for the right deal. “There are some constituencies which are dear to some candidates including myself. Whichever party offers to field us from these constituencies, we will stand by them,” said M Krishank, spokesman for OU-TSJAC, who wants to contest from the Secunderabad Cantonment constituency.

“We have been actively participating in fighting political battles outside the campus since sometime now. OU students are now on a reach-out phase,” he added.

Source: http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2013-05-29/hyderabad/39600933_1_student-leaders-telangana-trs


1. sudhakar -9951548543/8499056699 - జూన్ 1, 2013

Students have always been exploited and used by the political leaders. Its good these young guys have decided to enter the political system in a bid to clean up the dirt. I as a former president of the OU Arts college, wish them best of luck and hope they will not succumb to the murky politics and remain undeterred to all temptations. I am also available as an adviser to them. I request the author of this article to carry this message to them and hold a meeting of all like minded budding politicians to chalk out strategies to contest the forthcoming elections..


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

గూగుల్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: