jump to navigation

Minority and BC votes, T JAC key factors in Mahabubnagar మార్చి 16, 2012

Posted by M Bharath Bhushan in BCs, BJP, Congress, elections, JAC, KCR, livelihoods, Mahabubnagar, MIM, Mulki, Muslim, politics, Reddy, regionalism, TDP, Telangana.
Tags: , , , , , ,

Minority and BC votes, T-JAC key factors
S. Venugopal, The Hindu, Mahabubnagar, March 11, 2012

The presence of 42,000 Muslim voters and the role that the Telangana Joint Action Committee (TJAC) will play will be the crucial factors in deciding the fate of candidates in the by-elections to Mahabubnagar Assembly constituency.

The elections will see a four-cornered contest between S. Prakash (Congress), P. Chandrasekhar (TDP), Syed Ibrahim (TRS) and Y. Srinivas Reddy (BJP) although there are nine other candidates in the fray.

The results may throw up a tight finish as all the four main parties have pulled out all stops to woo the 1.86 lakh voters in this predominantly urban constituency, which has the highest literacy rate in the district. This is the second by-election in Mahabubnagar constituency, after 1980 when Congress (I) MLA K. Ram Reddy passed away.

In the 2009 elections, N. Rajeswar Reddy, who contested as an Independent, defeated his nearest TRS rival Syed Ibrahim by a margin of 5,137 votes. He was in the Praja Rajyam and was hopeful of securing ticket, but contested as an Independent on being denied the nomination.

Apart from the Muslim factor, and the role played by government employees and voters of the Backward Classes will also have a significant say in the final outcome. Not surprisingly, the Congress and the TDP have fielded candidates hailing from the Backward Classes community while the TRS has nominated Mr. Ibrahim, apparently with an eye on the large number of Muslim voters. However, the TRS is facing a challenge from the BJP (which has fielded Mr. Srinivas Reddy) as both are campaigning on the Telangana plank. The district TRS chief was actively involved in the election of K. Chandrasekhar Rao from Mahabubnagar Parliamentary constituency in 2009 elections. The decision of T-JAC’s Mahabunagar district unit to back the BJP candidate could cause difficulties to the TRS.

The Congress candidate is a senior party leader and has served as Municipal Chairman. The party is trying to attract the voters by its promise that Congress alone can get a separate State. Mr.
Chandrasekhar of the TDP is a seasoned politician and is banking on support from the BC community. The one-lakh-plus BC voters are much sought after by Congress and TDP candidates. The TDP is hopeful of generating sympathy for its candidate as he lost two successive polls, but has always been accessible to people. (Inputs by Ravi Reddy in Hyderabad)

Source: http://www.thehindu.com/news/states/andhra-pradesh/article2982003.ece



No comments yet — be the first.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

గూగుల్+ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google+ account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: