jump to navigation

Congress wins trust vote, 16 hours debate on corruption & growing crisis in the state డిసెంబర్ 7, 2011

Posted by M Bharath Bhushan in BJP, Congress, corruption, CPI, CPI-M, Polavaram, politics, regionalism, TDP, Telangana, TRS, Y S Jagan, YSR.
Tags: , ,

Kiran government wins trust vote
Special Correspondent, The Hindu, HYDERABAD, December 6, 2011

Marathon 16-hour-long debate ends at 1.30 a.m.

The Congress government defeated the Telugu Desam-sponsored no confidence motion by a comfortable margin of 160-122 votes at the end of a marathon 16-hour-long debate that ended at 1.30 a.m. on Tuesday.

But the ruling party paid a heavy price for its victory after 16 of its MLAs defied its whip and voted in favour of the no trust motion, notwithstanding the likelihood of their disqualification from the Assembly. If they are disqualified, the Congress party’s own strength will come down to 137, way below the half-way mark in the 294-member Assembly.

However, the voting pattern, including the rebellion by the pro-Jagan MLAs, went along expected lines. The Opposition parties comprising the TDP, TRS, CPI, BJP, CPI (M) and Congress rebels closed ranks and voted in support of the motion while the one-year-old Kiran Kumar Reddy government mustered the backing of the Praja Rajyam and its ally, the MIM, to sail through. Lok Satta member N. Jayaprakash Narayan remained neutral.

In all, 19 MLAs owing allegiance to YSR Congress, including Vijayamma, a TDP member Balanagi Reddy and Shoba Nagi Reddy (PR), voted in favour of the no confidence motion. This was being predicted since morning after these MLAs openly declared their decision to support the TDP’s motion on the ground that it was primarily aimed at highlighting the farmers’ plight. However, one Congress MLA, Puthalapattu Ravi from Chittoor district, slipped away from their camp and returned to the Congress fold at the very last moment.
Minus the existing vacancies and the abstentions, the effective strength of the 294-member Assembly is 283 and the government required at least 143 votes to survive.

The final moments of the debate were marked by pandemonium when TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu traded charges with Transport Minister Botcha Satyanarayana over the Volkswagen scam.

The Congress victory was largely a result of the high command brokering peace with the sulking 18-member Praja Rajyam late on Sunday night. It was already assured of support from seven MIM members, after Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy promised the Greater Hyderabad Mayorship to that party. The debate was marked by acrimonious exchanges between Leader of the Opposition N. Chandrababu Naidu and the Chief Minister.

Source: http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/article2690916.ece



No comments yet — be the first.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

గూగుల్+ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google+ account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: