jump to navigation

3 TRS MLAs vote for Congress MLC candidates? మార్చి 19, 2011

Posted by M Bharath Bhushan in agitation, Andhra, Andhrapreneurship, BJP, compromise, Congress, corruption, elections, KCR, movement, politics, regionalism, TDP, TRS.
Tags: , , ,

3 TRS MLAs vote for Congress
Deccan Chronicle, March 18, 2001

March 17: It was a rude jolt to the Telangana Rashtra Samiti chief, Mr K. Chandrasekhar Rao, when three TRS MLAs were suspected to have cross voted in the MLCs elections here on Thursday.

The TRS nominee, Mr Mahamood Ali, got only 11 votes as against the anticipated 14 — 11 TRS, two BJP MLAs, Mr G. Kishan Reddy and Mr Laxminarayana, and the rebel Telugu Desam MLA, Mr Pocharam Srinivas Reddy. The TRS leadership is tight-lipped and refused to comment on the cross voting, saying merely that they are trying to investigate what went wrong.

The BJP, which has two MLAs, promised support to the TRS as did the rebel Telugu Desam MLA. BJP floor leader and MLA, Mr G. Kishan Reddy swore he and Mr Laxminarayana had voted for the TRS. “We voted for the TRS. The cross voting took place in the TRS camp. Where is the need for us to indulge in cross voting? If we don’t want to vote for the TRS, we would have told them. I spoke to Mr Etela Rajender, TRS floor leader, and he confirmed cross voting in his camp,” Mr Kishan Reddy told this newspaper.

Mr Chandrasekhar Rao fielded a party nominee to keep his flock together and prevent them from falling prey to the lure of money as happened in the past and which almost led to a split in the party. The TRS leadership had hoped for cross voting from the Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy camp which is crossing swords with the Congress, besides the Telangana Congress and Telugu Desam MLAs who are supporting the Telangana cause. But that dream has vanished.

Sources in the TRS said the needle of suspicion points to cross voting by three party MLAs, who might have voted for the Congress nominee, Mr Ranga Reddy who got more votes than expected. But it’s difficult to prove since the TRS nominee got 11 votes, in keeping with the strength of the party.

Source: http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels/cities/hyderabad/3-trs-mlas-vote-congress-895



No comments yet — be the first.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

గూగుల్+ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google+ account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: