jump to navigation

Telangana bypolls on July 27 జూన్ 22, 2010

Posted by Telangana Utsav in Adilabad, agitation, BJP, Congress, elections, Harish, Karimnagar, KCR, KTR, Medak, Nizamabad, politics, regionalism, SC, Settler, students, TDP, Telangana, TRS, Vemulawada, Warangal.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Telangana bypolls on July 27
Special Correspondent , The Hindu, June 22, 2010

No elections in Vemulawada and Sircilla segments

Schedule for byelections

Event Date
Issue of Notification July 2
Last date for nominations July 9
Scrutiny of Nominations July 10
Last date for withdrawal July 12
Date of Poll July 27
Counting of Votes July 30

NEW DELHI:The Election Commission on Monday announced that the byelections from 10 of the 12 Assembly constituencies in the Telangana region will be held on July 27 and the notification issued on July 2.

The counting of votes will be taken up at 8 a.m. on July 30 and the electoral roll with respect to January 1, 2010, as the qualifying date will be published on June 25 in 10 Assembly constituencies going to polls. The model code of conduct has already come into effect and would be applicable to all the candidates, political parties and the State/Central governments.

The polls will be held in Sirpur, Chennur (SC), Mancherial, Yellareddy, Nizamabad (Urban), Koratla, Dharmapuri (SC), Huzurabad, Siddipet and Warangal West Assembly constituencies. Since election petitions were pending with regard to Vemulawada and Sircilla Assembly segments and the petitioners had sought the court to declare them elected after setting aside the elected candidates, the polls could not be held there as they would not come under the “clear vacancies,” EC said.

The last date for filing nominations is July 9 and on July 10 the papers will be scrutinised. The last date of withdrawal of candidature is July 12. The poll will be held between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. on July 27. The election is caused due to the resignation of 10 TRS MLAs and one MLA each from the TDP and BJP protesting the “unfair terms of reference” announced for the Srikrishna Committee during the pro-Telangana protests in February.

Asked how long the EC had to wait to hold polls in Vemulawada and Sircilla constituencies, sources said there was no fixed time limit and the polls could not be held till the election petitions were disposed of by the High Court. Suppose the EC holds the polls in future and if the court declares the petitioner elected, then it might lead to complications and “two persons cannot represent one constituency,” sources added.




No comments yet — be the first.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

గూగుల్+ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google+ account. నిష్క్రమించు / మార్చు )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: