jump to navigation

Political parties fail to impress Hyderabadi – GHMC polls నవంబర్ 27, 2009

Posted by Telangana Utsav in Congress, corruption, elections, GHMC, Hyderabad, Identity, MIM, politics, TDP.

Telugu Desam gains in GHMC polls
Special Correspondent, The Hindu 27 November 2009

Congress suffers setback

HYDERABAD: The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections threw up a fractured verdict in the 150-member council, with none of the political parties in the arena crossing the magical half-figure mark.

The ruling Congress suffered a setback by winning just 52 seats, though it contested all the 150 divisions, while the main Opposition Telugu Desam staged a comeback by bagging 45 divisions out of the 141 it contested. The MIM bastions in the old city remained impregnable with the party bagging 43 divisions out of 70 it contested.
It was a dismal show for other political parties. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which spared no effort to regain its lost glory had to satisfy itself with a tally of five seats, though it put up candidates in 137 divisions. The face-saving solitary win for actor Chiranjeevi’s Praja Rajyam came from Old Bowenpally, though it fielded candidates in 64 divisions.

Despite the fractured verdict, the ruling Congress is poised to get its Mayoral candidate elected with the help of ex-officio members (MPs of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, MLAs and MLCs) in the indirect elections slated to be held on December 4. Congress leaders attributed the TDP’s haul to the backing it received from Andhra settlers in the twin cities as a reaction to the threats held out against them by the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS). APCC chief D. Srinivas described it as a ‘conspiracy`

Fissures in the Congress bastions in the capital and its surroundings have now come into sharp focus in the first-ever elections it fought after the demise of Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy. The 150 divisions fall in 24 Assembly segments out of which 13 are held by the ruling party, seven by MIM, one each by the BJP, TDP and Lok Satta, while a Congress rebel got elected from one constituency.

Telugu Desam fared better on the outskirts and managed to make a dent in the Congress-held Assembly segments. Notably, it bagged seven out of eight divisions in LB Nagar represented by Congress MLA D. Sudhir Reddy, while in Home Minister Sabita Indra Reddy’s Maheshwaram segment, it bagged both divisions.

Minister Mukesh Goud’s Maharajgunj segment elected four Congress candidates, while conceding two to MIM, one each to BJP and TDP. Similarly in Malkajgiri, it bagged four out of eight divisions, three out of seven in Uppal, three out of five in Serilingampally, three out of seven each in Jubilee Hills and Sanathnagar. The only segment to elect all the six ruling party candidates was Secunderabad, represented by first-time MLA Jayasudha Kapoor.

Source: http://www.hindu.com/2009/11/27/stories/2009112750180100.htm



No comments yet — be the first.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

వర్డ్‌ప్రెస్.కామ్ లోగో

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

గూగుల్+ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Google+ account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ట్విటర్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Twitter account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )

ఫేస్‌బుక్ చిత్రం

You are commenting using your Facebook account. నిష్క్రమించు /  మార్చు )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: